Time

I’ve always hated time. The entire concept really irks me. Maybe its because I have an issue with change or maybe its because I’m constantly 10 minutes late and it gives me a bad rap but time and I do not agree with each other. 

I think my issues with time started in 2003 when the song 100 Years by Five for Fighting was released. I remember hearing the lyrics say “When you only got a hundred years to live” an immediately balling my eyes out. My parents did not know how to handle the situation and it took me about 1/2 to explain that I didn’t want to only live 100 years and that if you die when you turn 100 then all my extended family will die soon. Maybe I’ve just always had a fear of death. 

I’ve always tried to find ways to avoid time. Growing up I dreamed of going to Neverland and never growing up forever staying a child. I see now that is unreasonable to think this way…so I make sure to keep some childhood wonder in me. 

I’m sure I’m not the only person in the world who hates time. I feel like so many humans feel the same resentment towards time that I feel. If that is the case, why do we let time continue to exist?

A friend of mine told me that we allow time to exist because it gives context to everything we do as a human race. Does everything need to be put in context?

xx

Ashley  

Leave a Reply

