Movie Moments

I have officially been in Oxford for 5 days and I can easily say I am in love with this city. I haven’t found the words that describe how I feel when I am here and I’m not sure if I ever will, but for now I must live in the moment and absorb as much as I can.

Since Thursday I have been on the go from Oxford University to London. Thursday was our first day of classes so nerves kicked in the night before. I am taking a religion course and a literature course, one with a British professor and one with the professor I came over with. The religion class is discussion based which I really enjoy because its interesting to hear everyone’s view on religion. The literature course is with my professor from home and all the students on the trip. We ended up taking a tour around Oxford to become more familiar with the city and the different colleges. We had the opportunity to go up to the top of the tower at the University Church of St. Mary the Virgin. The view was absolutely incredible. I didn’t even care that it was raining while I was at the top.

Processed with VSCOcam with c2 preset

 

 

After classes we got ready to go to a”barbecue” that our host university threw for us. We had to dress up and then walk a few streets up to the main building. About 7 of us began our walk to the school. Thankfully it hadn’t rained since the afternoon so the walk was dry up until my movie moment. I was walking along enjoying my surroundings when a red double decker comes speeding up the street and drives straight through a puddle I was walking next to. *SPLASH* The water covered me. For a split second I was devastated that my robin egg blue dress was soaked but then I began to laugh, after all wasn’t that the movie moment every girl wanted to experience in England beside the poster scene from “Love Actually”.

10336655_10202320434984855_8792676671232248905_n

The dinner ended up being a four course meal with no barbecue but it was nice to dress up and enjoy some wine. Following that dinner we wanted to check out the local pub again and get drinks so a group of girls and I sat around a coffee table drinking gin&tonics, chattering about how wonderful it is here and whispering about the adorable bartenders that we had met the last time we came to the pub.

If you haven’t caught on by now I have a feeling the local pub is going to be a theme in my trip.

 

xx

Ashley

 

Leave a Reply

