Expectations

High_Street,_Oxford,_England,_1890s

 

Everyone has expectations for everything. You can have expectations of what your summer will be like or how good dinner is going to be tonight. I’ve found that often times my expectations lead to disappointment.

I am a dreamer. I spend most of my days imagining how the plans I have coming up will be like. Often times these dreams don’t reflect reality.

In exactly one week I will be on a plane flying to Heathrow where I will then be picked up by a bus and transported to the city of Oxford to spend a month studying different eastern religions and the literature of Oxford. I have been waiting for this trip to England since I was a senior in high school. This dream is 2 years old, young but the biggest dream I’ve had yet.

Two years is a long time to  be dreaming about a place. Naturally expectations have been made and I have spent countless hours imagining what it will be like there, and the different people I’ll meet. I’m terrible that my dreams of Oxford won’t meet my reality, but as Peter McWilliams once said about love It is a risk to love. What if it doesn’t work out? Ah, but what if it does.” I will have the same mindset going into this trip. 

 

xx

Ashley

Leave a Reply

