Track Review: Stay by Lewis Watson

10864737026_6b7b189664_z

 

Let me introduce you to Ed Sheeran’s long lost brother. Meet Lewis Watson, a 21 year old singer/songwriter from Oxfordshire, England. He hasn’t completely taken over the US but that is sure to happen after the release of his debut album “The Morning”. His sound is very singer/songwriter. If you listen to Gabrielle Aplin, Ed Sheeran, Nina Nesbitt, or Kodaline I would recommend checking him out.

GJfe2Hkl

Watson started out posting covers on YouTube and after three years released his first EP in 2012 titled”It’s got four sad songs on it BTW”. Soon after that release he was offered many record deals before signing with Warner Bros Records who have worked with artists like Damien Rice and Neil Young. Between 2012-2013, Watson released fiver other EP’s before announcing this year that he would be releasing his debut album.

The first single of his debut album is titled “Stay”. It’s an acoustic driven song with quiet drum beats that join halfway through the song. The story behind “Stay” is extremely romantic. Watson explained that “Stay” was written about a dream he had where a girl was singing a song that he thought was amazing. “I hadn’t heard the song before, so I tried to wake myself up to write what I’ve heard but when I woke up I couldn’t remember the song. I wrote this song about the girl in my dream.”  (Source)

While Watson has not announced any US tour dates yet, he has a UK tour lined up next fall!

 

xx

Ashley

Leave a Reply

