Track Review: Sing by Ed Sheeran

Image

Ed Sheeran has been in my life for 3 years now. I came across his debut album in 2011 when it came out in the UK and I have never looked back. I fell in love with his affectionate lyrics and incredible musical ability. When I saw him live for the first time it was at Gillette Stadium for Taylor Swift’s Red Tour. I immediately broke down in tears because not only did he create all the beats, harmonies, and riffs by just using a loop pedal, he also got a stadium of about 70,000 people to sing in three part harmony. He certainly knows how to captivate a room.

When I first heard his title of his new single of his upcoming album “x” I was very hesitant. All it sounded to me was a bubble gum pop song and I was very concern that it wouldn’t be the Ed that I had grown to love. Believe “Sing” is not the Ed I’ve grown to love. It’s better.

Image“Sing” has R&B, Hip/Hop vibes and like everyone is saying sounds awfully like Justin Timberlake’s “Justified” and “Future Love/Sex Sounds”. “Asked if he might have been unconsciously inspired by Timberlake on “Sing,” Sheeran proves willing to go beyond that: “It was pretty close to a direct inspiration,” he says. “I love Justified and FutureSex/LoveSounds, so I took inspiration from those.”(Source)

The song begins with heavy bass and an acoustic guitar riff, with an electric guitar joining in at the beginning of the first verse. I especially love the catchy oohs being sung with the 80’s/90’s Rap sounding music playing in the background. The acoustic guitar can be heard throughout the rest of the song which to me shows that Ed is just showing off his R&B influences. I’m not surprised by this sound at all considering all throughout last year he tweeted about working with producers like Pharrell, Lupe Fisaco, Rick Ross, and The Game.  Lyrically, the story is great but they are not the heartfelt lyrics like “Give Me Love.”

Ed has said in recent interviews with both Billboard and The Rolling Stone that “the last album was more young and dewy-eyed and innocent,” he says. “I’ve still got very nice songs on this record. But some of them are bite-y.” (Source) I’m looking forward to hearing some more gritty, up beat songs.

They way I describe the release of this song is like dating someone for three years and never seeing their true self and then having them show you who they really are one day and you realize that they are better then you imagined.

 

xx

Ashley

Leave a Reply

